Friday, March 28, 2014

Playlist: March

    • The War on Drugs—Lost in the Dream (2014)
    • Jimi Goodwin—Odludek (2014)
    • Elbow—The Takeoff and Landing of Everything (2014)
    • Joseph Arthur—Lou (2014)
    • Beck—Morning Phase (2014)
    • The Civil Wars—Between the Bars EP (2014)
    • Real Estate—Atlas (2014)
    • Warpaint—Warpaint (2014), The Fool (2010)
    • Se Delan—The Fall (2014)
    • St. Vincent—Actor (2009), Marry Me (2007)
    • Walter Becker—Monkey Circus (2008)
    • David Bowie—Young Americans (1975), Station to Station (deluxe edition, 1976), Low (1977) 
    • King Crimson—Larks' Tongues in Aspic (1973)
    • Yes—Yes (1969), Time and a Word (1970), The Yes Album (1971), Fragile (1971), Close to the Edge (1972), Tales from Topographic Oceans (1973), Relayer (1974)

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Now on Newsstands: Elbow interview

When I interviewed Elbow's Guy Garvey about the band's sixth studio album, The Take Off and Landing of Everything, he said, "It’s a dense first listen, I will say that, but utterly rewarding." 

The album is, indeed, a grower. At first, I was disappointed that The Take off and Landing of Everything doesn't boast the immediate wow factor of Build a Rocket Boys! tracks such as "The Birds," "Lippy Kids,"  "With Love" and "Neat Little Rows." But now that I've spent some time with the new album, I'm smitten with it. Some of the tracks that initially passed me by, such as "Colour Fields" and "Real Life (Angel)" and "This Blue World" and "Blanket of Night," are now among my favorites. And the single, "New York Morning," will sneak up on you and become your ears' new best friend - take a listen to the music video, below. 

If the album has a weakness it's this: It doesn't take Elbow to too many new places - honorable exceptions "Lunette/Fly Boy Blue" and "The Blanket of Night" - but the band compensates with gorgeous melodies and Guy Garvey's never-more-soulful singing. Indeed, The Take off and Landing of Everything is consistently strong. I love every track. (Tip: Doesn't work well as a background listen. Headphones and a dark space are a must.)

True to Garvey's word, the album is utterly rewarding.

My interview with Guy Garvey about the making of the album is in the new issue of Under the Radar magazine (more details on its contents here), which is now on newsstands or available as an e-version (download the magazine's new app for free.) 

Also, here's a bonus interview I did with the band for the magazine in which Garvey talks about his favorite cities and the songs he associates with each of them.